Runway vs Luma Dream Machine

Facts from each vendor's published pages, checked . Compare different tools →

Our ranking

In Trailers & marketing, Luma Dream Machine ranks #1 and Runway ranks #2. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use allowed; no engine integration stated; API and official MCP server. Luma's Uni-1 image model is #31 of 102 on Artificial Analysis's text-to-image leaderboard; its current video model isn't on the video boards yet.

Full ranking: Trailers & marketing · How we rank

#2 in Trailers & marketing

Runway

Trailers & marketing · Free tier + paid
Commercial use
Commercial use allowed
Free plan
Free trial or credits only125 one-time credits
Ship free-plan output?
Yes (free option is a trial or credits)
Engines
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)

Visit Runway ↗Full listing

Bottom line for game devs

Full comparison

Tool
RunwayCommercial use allowed
Luma Dream MachineCommercial use allowed
Best for
Trailer and teaser video shots
Marketing video clips
What it does
AI video, image and audio generation (Runway Gen-4.5 plus third-party models), usable for trailer shots, teasers and marketing material.
Video and image generation with Luma's own models and third-party models, usable for trailer shots and marketing clips.
Verdict
For generating trailer and teaser shots; the terms don't restrict commercial use of outputs, but Runway may train on your inputs and outputs.
For marketing video clips on a paid plan; commercial use is listed from the US$30/month Plus tier, with no free plan.
Tasks●
Trailers & marketing, Concept art & 2D assets
Trailers & marketing
Engines
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Free plan●
Free trial or credits only 125 one-time credits
Paid only No free plan listed
Pricing
Free $0 (125 one-time credits). Standard US$12/month, Pro US$28/month and Max US$76/month, billed annually (US$15, US$35 and US$95 billed monthly). Gen-4.5 uses 12 credits per second of video. source
Plus US$30/month (10,000 credits), Pro US$90/month (40,000 credits), Ultra US$300/month (150,000 credits); billed yearly these are US$25, US$75 and US$250 a month (US$300, US$900 and US$3,000 a year). No free plan is listed on the pricing page. source
Export formats
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
Commercial use
Commercial use allowed
Terms of Use 4.4: Runway does not claim ownership of Inputs or Outputs and does not restrict your commercial use of Outputs. Inputs and Outputs may be used to train its models. source
Commercial use allowed
Pricing page lists "Commercial use" on Plus, and higher tiers include everything in Plus. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API
Available. Runway developer API source
Available. Dream Machine API source
MCP server
Official MCP server. Runway Dev MCP server (OAuth) source
Official MCP server. Official MCP server (GitHub) source
Last checked

Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.