Unity AI

Unity's AI tools (Unity is retiring the "Unity AI" name): an in-editor assistant for project questions, code and Editor actions, plus generators for images, textures, sounds, 3D models and animations, metered in Unity Credits. The Unity CLI, MCP server and Unity's official agent plugin are free.

Visit official site ↗Included with engine planCommercial use: not stated by vendor

#6 in Coding assistantsranked on game-dev fit · how we rank

Can I use Unity AI in a commercial game?

Not stated by vendor Not stated by vendor: we couldn't find a clear answer in Unity AI's published terms, so confirm with the vendor before you ship.

What the terms say: Unity's AI Guiding Principles say you own your input and output data, regardless of the partner model used, and that you're responsible for making sure generated assets don't infringe third-party rights. Using the generators is also governed by third-party terms (Layer, Scenario, Uthana). Generated assets carry "UnityAI" metadata. Commercial-use terms for outputs aren't stated separately. Read the vendor's terms ↗ · Checked

Verdict: For Unity 6 users who want AI inside the editor: credits are included on Pro, Enterprise and Industry, while Personal gets a 14-day trial and then a paid subscription. Unity says you own the outputs, but third-party generator terms also apply.

Best for
Unity users who want AI inside the editor
Tasks
Coding assistants, Concept art & 2D assets, Textures & materials, 3D model generation, Music & SFX, Rigging, animation & mocap
Engines
Unity
Price & free tier
Free trial or credits only Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Unity Personal: "Try Unity's AI tools free for 14 days, paid subscription available after trial", listed with a 1,000 monthly credit allowance; Unity's AI FAQ says the Personal trial "converts to a $10/month subscription" (currency not stated by vendor). Pro (from $2,310/yr) includes 2,000 monthly credits; Enterprise 3,000. "Special terms apply to Unity Credits." Credits reset each billing cycle and don't roll over; extra credit bundles are sold. The CLI, MCP server and official plugin are free to use.
Source: https://unity.com/products
Export formats
Assets are created inside the Unity project
Commercial use & licence
Commercial use: not stated by vendor
Unity's AI Guiding Principles say you own your input and output data, regardless of the partner model used, and that you're responsible for making sure generated assets don't infringe third-party rights. Using the generators is also governed by third-party terms (Layer, Scenario, Uthana). Generated assets carry "UnityAI" metadata. Commercial-use terms for outputs aren't stated separately.
Source: https://unity.com/legal/unityai-guiding-principles
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
API
Not applicable Editor feature
MCP server
Official MCP server Unity MCP server provided through the Unity CLI (Unity 6+)
Source: https://docs.unity.com/en-us/unity-cli/replace-mcp-server-unity-cli
Last checked

We summarise what the vendor's own pages say on the date above. "Not stated by vendor" means we couldn't find that detail on the vendor's pages. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship anything.

AI tools you can legally ship in a paid game

Our free cheat sheet covers every tool we list: whether free-plan output can go in a commercial game, which plan you need, and the catch, with sources and check dates. Subscribe and we'll email you the link, plus a weekly newsletter on new tools and licence changes. Unsubscribe any time. (Or just read it here.)